LARK RISE

(placeholder)
(placeholder)
(placeholder)
(placeholder)

Peacocks pick their way among the banyans in Fairchild Tropical Gardens, trailing their magnificent tails behind them. World-class orchestras and opera singers perform at the Adrienne Arsht Center. In this beautiful international city of Miami there is a growing community of home educators who have adopted the philosophy and methods of Charlotte Mason in order to glorify God and serve others through an education that values the wonder of life in our time and place.


Please email us with your recommended additions to this list of Miami-area locations and events that enhance and complement a CM education.



art

Pérez Art Museum Miami  | pamm.org | modern and contemporary international artwork and educational programs



books

Books & Books | booksandbooks.com | locally-owned, independent neighborhood bookstores and cafés

Miami-Dade Public Library System | mdpls.org | country public library system



history

The Barnacle Historic State Park | floridastateparks.org | historic home and grounds hosting picnics and concert series

Deering Estate | deeringestate.org | historic site offering tours, events, programs, and community classes

HistoryMiami Museum | historymiami.org | cultural institution for gathering, preserving, and celebrating Miami's history

Vizcaya Museum and Gardens | vizcaya.org | historic Italian-style estate with manicured gardens



music

artists and groups

Florida Grand Opera | fgo.org | one of the oldest performing arts organizations in Florida

The Miami Symphony Orchestra | themiso.org | Miami's hometown professional orchestra

Seraphic Fire | seraphicfire.org | Florida's Grammy-nominated vocal ensemble


concert series

Wallcast Concert Series | nws.edu | free outdoor broadcasts of live concerts by the New World Symphony


education

Miami Bach Society | miamibachsociety.org | organizer of the Tropical Baroque Music Festival


halls and venues

Adrienne Arsht Center of the Performing Arts  | arshtcenter.org | Ziff Ballet and Opera House and Knight Concert Hall



nature and science

Bill Sadowski Park and Nature Center | miamidade.gov | natural habitats, live animal exhibit, walking trails

Everglades National Park | nps.gov | world heritage site and important habitat for many rare and endangered species

Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden | fairchildgarden.org | exploring, explaining, and conserving the world of tropical plants

The Kampong | ntbg.org | national tropical botanical garden that was personal estate of Dr. Fairchild

Montgomery Botanical Center | montgomerybotanical.org | research, conservation, and education through scientific collections

Phillip and Patricia Frost Science Museum | frostscience.org | museum and planetarium

Pinecrest Gardens | pinecrestgardens.org | historical site with botanical garden, outdoor amphitheater, and splash-and-play

Tropical Audubon Society  | tropicalaudubon.org | free environmental and historical education programs



shakespeare

Florida Shakespeare Theater | shakespearemiami.com | free Shakespeare in the parks

Unleashing Shakespeare | homeschool-life.org | Miami's home-school theater co-op

Charlotte Mason in Miami, Florida

(placeholder)
(placeholder)
(placeholder)
(placeholder)